Proceedings of the Mountrail County Commissioners

1. OPENING & ROLL CALL

The Board met in special session on Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 8:00 A.M. with GOTOMEETING with Commissioners Trudy Ruland, Joan Hollekim, Daniel Uran, Garry Jacobson and Wayne Olson present. Absent was States Attorney, Wade Enget.

Chairman Ruland called the meeting to order.

2. BUSINESS

A. COVID-19 DISCUSSION

Discussion was held with Departments Heads concerning the COVID-19 and the plan and policy moving forward. Present for the discussion were Corey Bristol, Jana Hennessy, Traci Hysjulien, Nichole Degenstein, Karen Babbitt, Melissa Vachal, Lori Hanson, Desirae Sorenson, Jessica Niemitalo, Mary Dennis, Laurie Johnson, Lisa Lapica, Lynette Vachal, Valerie Stammen, Mary Kilen, and Joselyn Nielsen. Discussion was held on the workplace assessment for COVID-19 sent to all department heads to complete for their office/department. Comm. Ruland ran through the concerns. Comm. Ruland suggested putting Nichole Degenstein, Human Resource Director as the Workplace Coordinator. Director Degenstein thinks it should be a broader and have more than one person as the Workplace Coordinator. Comm. Hollekim stated she agrees with Director Degenstein and all department heads be in charge of their own office due to the uniqueness and different requirements for each offices/department. Discussion was held on the protocol if a positive case of COVID-19 is discovered.

Moved by Comm. Hollekim, seconded by Comm. Uran, to designate each Department Head as the Workplace Coordinator who will be responsible for COVID-19 issues within their office/department first then Nichole Degenstein as the Workplace Coordinator for any COVID-19 issues that cannot be addressed by each department head and as the records keeper of information and communications. Comm. Uran made comment that Commissioners should be sent all information related to COVID-19 issues too so they are kept inform and address any issues needing addressing. Upon roll call, all present voted yes. Motion carried.

Discussion was held on the cleaning routine in all the buildings and offices. Sheriff Bristol suggested that employees help with the cleaning within their offices. Supervisor Babbitt discussed calling one of the custodial staff if anything is needed. Comm. Ruland stated communication is the biggest key to success. Comm. Hollekim stated the custodial staff has continued to clean and do their jobs the last 7 weeks in the buildings, and have been making adjustments in their cleaning routines. Comm. Ruland stated if they have children at home, underlying health conditions or live with someone who has serious health conditions that employee should to be able to continue to telecommute. Comm. Hollekim stated all the surrounding counties will have discussion on May 19th on when to open to the public.

Moved by Comm. Uran, seconded by Comm. Olson, to extend the limited restriction access to the public for all county buildings until May 20, 2020 and offices continue to move forward with phase I. Upon roll call, Jacobson, Uran, Ruland, Olson, and Hollekim all present voted yes.

Motion carried.

Moved by Comm. Hollekim, seconded by Comm. Uran, to rescind the motion of March 17, 2020 Commissioner meeting and requiring an employee to remain away from the workplace for 7 days for out-of-state travel and abide by the State of North Dakota travel quarantine orders. Upon roll call, all present voted yes. Motion carried.

Comm. Hollekim suggested the Department Heads look into obtaining masks if they would like to utilize them. Comm. Hollekim also suggested utilizing plexi-glass guards in their offices. There are several offices already that have taken measures to install sneeze guards.

Moved by Comm. Hollekim, seconded by Comm. Uran, to adjourn the meeting. Upon roll call, all present voted yes. Motion carried.

3. ADJOURN

The Board adjourned at 8:48 A.M. to meet in regular session on Tuesday, May 19, 2020 at 9:00 A.M. Accepted and approved this 19th day of May, 2020.

Trudy Ruland, Chairman

Stephanie A. Pappa

Mountrail County Commissioner

Mountrail County Auditor