## Proceedings of the Board of Mountrail County Commissioners

## September 28, 2016

The Board met in special session on Wednesday at 6:00 P.M. with Commissioners Arlo Borud, Greg Boschee, Colleen Reese, Trudy Ruland, and Garry Jacobson present.

Also present from the public were Jackie Nelson, Pam Nelson, Scott Ruland, Gene Brown, Jesse Locken, Casey Locken, Scott Liedle, Rory Porth, Jim Enge, Alice Dusek, Wayne E. Johnson, Wendy Maurer, Scott Meiers, Aaron Skarsgard, Curtis Vachal, Tony Nardacci, Jay Jackson, Theresa Church, Jane Church, Elouise Enget, Leon Enget, Chad Erickson, Stacy Erickson, Jacob Carpenter, Roberta Ramberg, Hamed Juma Jr., Alan Tollefson, Shane Aadnes, Greg Johnson, Diane Johnson, Tressy Heinle, Lynn Heinle, Patrick Dittbrenner, Lancer LaBar, Jan Johnson, Brandon Avery, Yuki Johnson, Daryl Johnson, Alan LaBar, Mary Kilen, James Moen Jr., Don Heinle, Mike Sorenson, Curt Hemstad, Nancy Hemstad, Chad Hysjulien, Eddie Patterson, Terence Ortloff, Justin LaBar, Mitchell Bures, Doug Kinnoin, Ashley Carpenter, Ryan Wilhelmi, Gary Friesen, Raven Fallin, Charlie Sorenson, Gary Schell, Donald Giese, Tanya Skaar and Shayne Mollet.

Present from the County were Melissa Vachal, Recorder; Traci Hysjulien, Clerk of Court; Shawna McFarland, Social Service Director; Jana Heberlie, Road & Bridge Engineer; Shena Wold, Treasurer; Karen Babbitt, Head Custodian; Lori Hanson, Tax Director; Jim Hennessy, Ag Agent; Laurie Johnson, Jail Administrator; Stephanie Pappa, Auditor; Wade Enget, States Attorney; and Joan Hollekim for the Auditor's Office.

Chairman Borud called the meeting to order.

Chairman Borud reviewed the budget from previous years. Chairman Borud stated the proposed 6.75% levy would increase the taxes by 11%. Chairman Borud informed the public that all of the departments cut budgets and the County implemented a freeze on hiring and overtime. Chairman Borud presented a chart showing the decline of oil revenue.

Chairman Borud opened the floor for public discussion.

Letters were received from Roberta Bell and Leon and Elouise Enget against the tax increase.

Wayne Johnson, Greg Bommelman, Alan LaBar, Justin LaBar, Alan Tollefson, Brandon Avery, Doug Kinnoin, Scott Meiers, Jan Johnson, Gary Schell, Jackie Nelson, Gary Ortloff, Shane Aadnes, and Jay Jackson opposed the tax increase.

Scott Ruland spoke in favor of the tax increase.

Jackie Nelson spoke with suggestions of raising money thru other avenues rather than property tax.

Tanya Skaar spoke on behalf of the Stanley School Board regarding questions that were brought up by the public.

Chairman Borud and Commissioner Boschee spoke to the public along with Tax Director Hanson, Engineer Heberlie, States Attorney Enget and previous Auditor Joan Hollekim.

The Board adjourned at 8:00 P.M. to meet in regular session on Tuesday, October 4, 2016 at 9:00 A.M.

Accepted and approved this 4<sup>th</sup> day of October, 2016

Arlo Borud, Chairman	Stephanie A. Pappa
Mountrail County Commissioners	Mountrail County Auditor